AIRB Board Members

Members of the AIRB were recruited from across the province selected through a public, open competition managed by an outside executive search firm. Board members have various skill sets, and include an individual to represent the interests of consumers

See the Board Meeting Schedule (updated yearly).

Charlene Butler
Board Chair

Charlene ButlerCharlene Butler is a director, angel investor, entrepreneur and consultant with over 30 years experience in the energy, government, non-profit and consulting sectors, including 11 years of direct insurance industry experience.

Charlene holds a Master of Business Administration, a Bachelor of Commerce (Risk Management and Insurance) and a Bachelor of Science (Actuarial Science), a Chemical Technology diploma and a Risk and Insurance Management Society Fellowship.

Other board experience includes the Mental Health Foundation, the University of Alberta Board of Governors and Senate.

Patricia Matthews
Board Vice-Chair

Patricia MatthewsPatricia Matthews is the entrepreneurial owner of Elected Solutions, a multi-tiered government consulting company, and the former Mayor of Chestermere. She has over a decade of governance and executive experience in government, corporate and non-profit sectors.

Patricia holds a Bachelor of Arts, a working background in IT and recently obtained her Institute of Corporate Directors ICD.D designation.

Mathew Wesolowski
Consumer Representative

Mathew Wesolowski is a retired senior insurance executive with over 38 years experience in the insurance industry, most recently as Alberta Motor Association Insurance Company’s Chief Operating Officer. He has extensive experience with consumer organizations responding to members needs and concerns.

Over the tenure of his career, Mathew has been involved on numerous boards and committees including Insurance Bureau of Canada (IBC) Board of Directors, IBC Alberta Committee, IBC National Personal Lines Committee. He has presented at numerous insurance industry conferences and seminars.

Mathew holds a Bachelor of Science with a major in psychology and a Bachelor of Law. He has held positions of Chief Privacy Officer, Chief Compliance Officer, Chief Anti Money Laundering Officer and Whistle Blower Officer.

Jamie Hotte

Jamie HotteJamie Hotte’s background is in insurance and employee benefits consulting and administration. He spent over 25 years with a Regional Insurance company where he held the position of Vice President – Underwriting & Marketing. Jamie also led the operations in western Canada as Regional Vice President for a large national insurance company who specializes in group affinity business. More recently Jamie held the position of Chief Operating Officer at an association leading their business services which included an insurance reciprocal and an employee benefit and wellness program.

Over the tenure of his career, Jamie has been involved on numerous boards and committees including Chair - IBC National Home Insurance Committee, Chair - Alberta IBC Regional Committee, Chair - Insurance Program Advisory Committee McEwan University, Board member and Director - Alberta Severe Weather Management Society and President - Insurance Institute of Northern Alberta.

Jay Jeworski

Jay JeworskiJay Jeworski is a Loss Adjuster at Charles Taylor Adjusting in Calgary with over a decade of experience in the insurance industry and currently specializes in handling complex industrial and energy sector claims for various domestic and international Insurers.

Jay holds a Bachelor of Business Administration, a Project Management Professional certificate, a Insurance Institute of Canada Fellowship and is an Accredited Insurance Broker and Risk Manager.

Joshua Gogo

Joshua GogoJoshua Gogo has diverse educational, professional and leadership background in Engineering, Economics, Finance and Investment, with over 23 years of global experience in the Energy, Academic, Finance, Technology and Development sectors in various capacities. As a Consultant he currently supports individuals, businesses, and private and public organizations around the world to find solutions to complex multidisciplinary, multi-stakeholder challenges.

Joshua holds a B.Tech (Hon) in Chemical/Petrochem Engineering; MSc in Computer Information Systems; MA and PhD in Economics. He is a Level III Candidate of the CFA Institute, Chartered Investment Manager and Fellow of the Canadian Securities Institute. Joshua has Global Governance, Leadership and Board experience.

William Moore

William MooreWilliam Moore is Senior vice-President of LMC Consulting Group in Calgary with over 30 years experience as a consulting actuary to pension plan sponsors in the public and private sector, including 9 years as Staff Actuary at Alberta Treasury Board and Finance.

William holds a Canadian Institute of Actuaries Fellowship.

Sherri Wilson
Sherri WilsonSuperintendent of Insurance
(non-voting member)

Sherri Wilson is the Superintendent of Insurance and the Assistant Deputy Minister of Financial Sector Regulation and Policy with Alberta Treasury Board and Finance.

Sherri’s education and experience has focused on health and public policy. She has 20 years of career experience in Government, and has held positions in Social Support ministries, Executive Council and comes most recently from her position as the Assistant Deputy Minister for Public Health and Compliance with the Ministry of Health. Sherri brings knowledge in public policy development, managing complex and diverse portfolios requiring consultation and engagement.