AIRB Board Members

Members of the AIRB were recruited from across the province selected through a public, open competition managed by an outside executive search firm. Board members have various skill sets, and include an individual to represent the interests of consumers

See the Board Meeting Schedule (updated yearly).

Ms. Charlene Butler (Acting Chair)

Charlene ButlerCharlene Butler is a director, angel investor, entrepreneur & consultant with over 30 years of executive experience in the Energy, Insurance, Government, Non-profit and Consulting sectors. She is an experienced senior leader with expertise in governance, evaluation, strategy, non-financial risk management and organizational performance optimization.

Ms. Butler has 11 years of direct insurance industry experience including: Regional Branch Manager for Intact Insurance, Regional Branch Manager for Allianz Canada, and Assistance Vice President for Aviva Insurance Company of Canada. She holds a Master of Business Administration from the University of Alberta, a Bachelor of Commerce (Risk Management and Insurance) and Bachelor of Science (Actuarial Science) both from the University of Calgary, a Chemical Technology diploma from SAIT, and a RIMS (Risk and Insurance Management Society) Fellowship Designation. Other board appointments include: Mental Health Foundation and the University of Alberta Board of Governors & Senate.

Ms. Butler offers the Automobile Insurance Rate Board strong technical skills combined with energy, passion and a commitment to serve.

Mr. James Cuming

James CumingMr. Cuming is currently the senior partner at Cuming & Gillespie, a boutique law firm in Calgary. His area of practice includes representing clients dealing with automobile insurance claims. He offers the unique consumer perspective of the insurance claimant.

Additionally, James is familiar with various models of governance.  He serves as a Governor of the American Association for Justice (formerly the Association of Trial Lawyers of America), is a former Executive member the Canadian Trial Lawyers Association and Past President of the Alberta Civil Trial Lawyers Association.

Mr. William Moore

William MooreMr. Moore is a graduate of Queen’s University and a Fellow of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries. He has practiced as a consulting actuary to pension plan sponsors in the public and private sector for 30 years.

He was the Staff Actuary at Alberta Treasury Board and Finance for nine years.

Mr. Moore currently is Senior Vice-President at LMC Consulting Group in Calgary.

Mr. Chris Daniel (Consumer Representative)

Mr. Daniel is a retired senior insurance executive with over 35 years in the insurance industry, most recently with TD Insurance Meloche Monnex. He has dealt with consumer organizations and has developed programs for their members. Mr. Daniel co-chaired the provincial “no fault” automobile insurance debate in the past.

His Board experience includes serving as a Director of the Insurance Brokers Association and several other community boards, including Wellspring Edmonton, Compassion House Foundation and Wizard Lake Watershed and Lake Stewardship Association. His passion to make a difference in the community and his focus on fairness and consumer satisfaction was acknowledged when he was awarded the Queens Golden Jubilee Medal for service to the community. Prior to joining the insurance profession Mr. Daniel served with the London, U.K. and Toronto police forces.

Ms. Nilam Jetha (non-voting member)

Nilam JethaNilam Jetha is the Assistant Deputy Minister of Financial Sector Regulation and Policy (FSRP) with Alberta Treasury Board and Finance. This position includes the roles of Superintendent of Insurance, Superintendent of Pension, and Superintendent of Financial Institutions. She has over 25 years of leadership experience in the Government of Alberta.

Ms. Jetha holds a Bachelor of Education degree from the University of Toronto and is a certified Project Management Professional from the Project Management Institute. Ms. Jetha is a strong believer in working in partnership and collaboration with stakeholders and models the way to inspire a shared vision, challenge the process and enable others to act.